Mood boards

I have been itching to do a moodboard for a while now. I wanted to wait until I renewed my Photoshop monthly subscription, but I’m not in the position right now to start it just yet.

There’s a site called, Olioboard where you can make moodboards for free and submit your room ideas to participate in contests. I’m not looking to submit my ideas yet. I just want to get the creative juices flowing in my brain. It’s a good site to use for quick ideas (even though it is “quick” it still takes time to find what you are looking for), but I feel limited since they only have items from three brands and some items I’d like to use are not vectored.

I decided to work on a few boards today, no direction, just leaped into it. I think they all have similar feels though they are different. I tend to gravitate towards neutral colors with a pop of color and/or pattern. Here’s the rooms I did today (yup, all today).

OB-For Grown Folk
“For Grown Folk”
OB-neutral
“Greige & Gold”
OB-snapshot
“Abstract Neutral”

I’m really satisfied with the outcome of my mood boards. I can’t wait to do more, but with the freedom of using other brands of furniture and decor. I want to design spaces that have interesting back stories.

There’s this one design studio, Roman and Williams, that blew my mind with one of their projects. This project was for a nightclub called, Boom Boom Room in NYC. The inspiration for this project completely wow’d me as I looked at the results on my screen.  Take a peek

“We want it to feel like a honey-covered Bentley, warm and sweet”… MIND.BLOWN.

The space embodies that exact image from the ceiling treatments to the seating. I can’t get it off my mind. I want to visit this nightclub just so I can see it with my own eyes.

This is the kind of feeling I want to give to people…  I want my clients to be awestruck, on cloud 9. I want my work to speak for itself and inspire others.

Let me know what you think of my boards. Have any ideas/inspiration I should do on the next mood boards? Comment here or on my Facebook page.

-Sheyna

Leave a Reply

